top of page

偏偏喜歡你 Destined to Love You


I was slightly hesitant to watch 偏偏喜歡你 or Destined to Love You at first because of the time period and setting. Dramas in these time periods usually end rather tragically but the cast was appealing enough for me to commit and boy was it worth it!

This drama has it all, the humor, the drama, the romance, the men in uniform. Even if you don't think the story is that great, you must admit all those guys in uniform is really satisfying to watch. I was dying of laughter before things got really intense.

(CONTAINING SPOILERS AHEAD)

This was my first time ever seeing Bosco Wong in a drama and he most definitely knows how to impress. His character, Shen Wen Tao is sort of cold at first but then you start to see how he warms up Chen Qiao En's roe, Qian Bao Bao. He's always by her side to help her and he doesn't even mind when he discovers she was lying about her identiy all along. In face he even helped her hide it. They have such beautiful interactions throughout the drama and then you're hit with the reality that the male star is really Jia Nai Liang's role, Xiang Hao. What was so dissapointing was that Qian Bao Bao and Shen Wen Tao seemed like the perfect couple but then she suddenly falls in love with Xiang Hao. I think the script lacked development between the two because throughout the drama Qian Bao Bao often saw Xiang Hao as a kid while she shared her feelings and thoughts with Shen Wen Tao. I normally cheer the main female and male on but this time the second male just really took my breath away.

One thing that was kind of depressing was that from the beginning, I already had a feeling that Shen Wen Tao would die. It was just so consistent with other dramas I have watched in the same time period. The second male lead usually dies especially when you have a drama where the military is involved. I actually skimmed the last episode because I couldn't bare to see his character die.

Anyway regardless of certain plot dissapointments and being just a bit draggy, I still insist that this drama is worth watching. It made me a huge fan of Bosco Wong, I hope to see him in future dramas!


bottom of page